ISO International Organisation for Standardisation

ISO is an independent organization with a membership of 161 national standards bodies, including BSI (British Standards Institute).

Collectively, they share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards to improve products and services that meet client expectations – wherever in the world they may be.

What are ISO standards?

International Standards make things work.

They give world-class specifications for products, services and systems, to ensure quality, safety and efficiency.

ISO does not perform certification

ISO develops International Standards, such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, but are not involved in their certification, and do not issue certificates.

This is performed by external certification bodies; in OPG’s case, BSI (British Standards Institute).

The facts about certification

Certification gives any business credibility, by demonstrating that its products & service meets the expectations of its customers.

OPG, has achieved and maintains three separate ISO certificates:

1) ISO 9001:2015 Standard, Quality Management System

ISO9001:2015 standard addresses various aspects of quality management.

The standard provides guidance and tools for companies and organizations who want to ensure that their products and services consistently meet customer’s requirements, and that quality is consistently improved. It can be used by any organization, large or small, regardless of its field of activity.

In fact, there are over one million companies and organizations in over 170 countries certified to ISO 9001.

This standard is based on a number of quality management principles including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continual improvement.

2) ISO 14001:2015 Environmental Management System

 ISO 14001:2015 Standard, Environmental Management System address various aspects of environmental management.

The standard provides practical tools for companies and organizations of all kinds looking to manage their environmental responsibilities.

The other standards in the family focus on specific approaches such as audits, communications, labelling and life cycle analysis, as well as environmental challenges such as climate change.

3) ISO45001:2018 Occupational Health & Safety Management System

ISO 45001:2018 Standard, Occupational Health and Safety Management System sets out the requirements for those organizations who wish to create and maintain a safe and healthy working environment for all. It helps numerous organizations of all sizes to successfully identify and manage occupational health and safety risks and hazards within their business. The new international standard has been developed in order to take in to account today’s business requirements. It’s the first ISO for Occupational Health and Safety, so for those organizations that operate or trade internationally, working to a single international standard could help to simplify their business.

What does all this mean for our customers at OPG?

Simple. We continually strive to improve our value proposition by offering our clients better quality, in a safe environment!

ISO Standards Certificates are held for a limited period during which time a series of planned internal and external audits (BSI Auditors) are conducted, to ensure compliance and re-certification criteria are satisfied. 

Source Reference:


Unleash the power of your brand with style

Please note that personal information submitted with this form is used for the purpose of responding to your enquiries and for internal record keeping. For more information how we use your data please refer to our Privacy Policy.